The Image of the Sacred

I imagine this post, this change in direction really, will be a bit of a surprise to the few, if any, who have followed this space at one time in the past. But the truth is, I’ve expended all of my political energy on Facebook, all of my old friends from the right nobly fighting to talk some sense into me. I guess I don’t really know what to expect of the reception for these thoughts. I haven’t actually decided yet, whether to announce my comeback on Facebook or via email, or whether I should just plow through this mess on my own. But there is something about writing for an immediate, responsive, and critical audience that sharpens the thinking, makes one a bit more careful about how the words are put together… about the very word itself.

For the immediate future, until I can get this place presentable again (did I really say that about Sarah Palin?), I think this is going to have to be a covert op. The idea, The Image of the Sacred–and that’s really all it is at this point, an idea–is something that I’ve been messing with in my head on and off (mostly on) for the last three or four years. It centers on a notion about how we create meaning… our interpretations of signs, and in particular, how we legitimize or sanction one interpretation over all others as truth. Oh god… another polemic on truth. Maybe. But perhaps there’s more to this journey than the destination. There better be, anyway, or this is going to hurt me more than it hurts you. Is it too late to ask for a timeout?

2 responses to “The Image of the Sacred

  1. I enjoyed reading your writing. Just wish I had a deep dish pizza to complement it all. When is the Ideology reunion concert? Please send any available back stage passes to chadweth@yahoo.com. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Leave a Reply

